Definition of SDLC Are: Functions, Stages, Development Model

list of contents

JSMedia – System Development Life Cycle or abbreviated SDLC is technology used to build an information system with the aim that it can operate as desired. Of course for systems that have high quality.

The System Development Life Cycle itself was established in sequential stages with six stages. This is also included in engineering learning for software or systems analysis from planning, analysis, design, implementation, test and integration, and maintenance.

Definition of SDLC is

Definition of SDLC is

SDLC is the use of cycles in the development or manufacture of information systems with the aim of solving problems more effectively. In other words, this SDLC is a work stage with the aim of producing a high quality system as desired.

The system is known for its complete plan content to maintain and develop or replace certain software. In addition, it also serves as a framework with the contents of the steps that must be taken to develop or process a software.

SDLC Functions

As a system, of course, the SDLC also has various functions, including sharing the responsibilities and roles between business analysts, designers, and project managers. In addition, this system can also be used to provide an overview of the output and input from stage to stage.

6 Stages of SDLC

SDLC Stages

Step by step the system is developed for a specific purpose. For those of you who do not know each stage, then see the sequence below:

1. Analysis

At this stage of analysis, the system will be analyzed for its operating program, the results of which are in the form of advantages and disadvantages, functions, and application updates.

Enter into planning which also includes project scheduling, cost estimation, resource allocation, capacity planning, and assignment.

2. Design

The design will produce a prototype as well as several other outputs that include patterns, designs, and components to run the project. Where all the results of the analysis and discussion of the specifications of the system will be applied as a blueprint for the system.

3. Development

This stage is the stage of development that takes a long time because it will be hindered by various obstacles as obstacles. In addition, at this stage of development the design may change at any time due to various reasons.

4. Testing

At this stage the system must be operated for testing on the system whether its development can work properly and optimally. However, attention to several things is also needed, such as the achievement of goals to the ease of use that has been compiled.

5. Implementation

The final steps involved in making the SDLC system are testing the system and ensuring its optimal operation. There are several points made during implementation, which are as follows:

  • Survey and feasibility assessment of the developed system.
  • Analyze and study the current system.
  • Troubleshooting on development.
  • Determine the proper use of hardware and software.
  • Design and development of new systems.
  • New system maintenance and upgrades.

This stage is also known as the deployment phase in which the software is deployed after going through the process, with normal approvals before bringing the software down for production. Can also be done using ARA before the production process is run.

6. Maintenance

For the maintenance of the SDLC system this is the last step as the beginning of a new step, namely its use. The software will be produced with certainty so that it can run perfectly.

Development style

This will greatly help the software development process which is then divided into several stages of development. Well, the stages or models are as follows:

1. Waterfall

Waterfall, this model will involve completing the stages completely to proceed to the next stage. This is also called the classic model with the main stages, including systems engineering and analysis, program writing, design, maintenance, and testing.

2. V-Shaped

V-Shaped focuses on the sequential termination process and is almost the same as the above model, namely the waterfall, but the emphasis remains on testing.

3. Incremental

This incremental will involve a development cycle that will be divided into small iterations and arranged to go through a series of stages with ease, including implementation, design, setup, and testing.

SDLC is a series of processes to produce a software or program that is carried out from the initial stages to the stage of being ready for use in a structured, effective, and purposeful manner. As for a simple network to be able to connect from one computer to another laptop like Peer to Peer Each stage will have a different application depending on the development technique that will be used later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *